The South African Paediatric Orthopaedic Society was founded in 1987 after acceptance of the Constitution at the annual SAOA Congress in 1985. Twelve founder members were present at this meeting. The executive committee consisted of the first president, Prof E Erken, and five committee members. Academic meetings and instructional course are held annually with international guest speakers. The sub-specialty has grown to include 55 orthopaedic surgeons. 

JJ Craig Eponymous Lecture

jjcraig This lecture is delivered every year at the SAOA Congress by an invited lecturer to commemorate Prof Craig’s contribution to the care of children with Cerebral Palsy in Johannesburg. Prof Craig was a general Orthopaedic Surgeon with a special interest in children with Cerebral Palsy. He was a Professor at the University of the Witwatersrand between 1985 and 1992. This lecture is usually given by a South African Surgeon (only two have been given by overseas guests) on a Paediatric Orthopaedic Condition.

See previous presentations that are available

Past Presidents of SAPOS

      1. Prof E Erken (1987-2001)
      2. Dr R Fraser (2001-2004)
      3. Prof J George (2004-2006)
      4. Prof EB Hoffman (2006-2010)
      5. Dr S Dix Peek (2010-2014)
      6. Prof A Robertson (2015 – Present)

Founding Members

Prof George Dall

Prof Teddy Hoffman

Prof Jos Bear

Prof Eugene Bleck

Dr André Bathfield

Prof Jimmy Craig

Dr Peter von Bormann

Prof Einhard Erken

Dr Alan Hammer

Dr Cristof Meyer

Prof Anton Schepers

Prof Gerry Versfeld